enjoying the foliage

spring cleaning

Posted on: Wednesday, April 23, 2008

I associate April with about three things: exam madness, personal neglect, and cleaning rampages. Because my landlady rules with an iron fist, I have to clean the house from top to bottom at the end of every school year for her inspection. It’s supposed to be a collective effort with the house, but I always end up with the kitchen. Even though it’s about the size of a walk-in closet, it gets pretty disgusting because we are a bunch of slobs with (slightly) more important things to do than menial labour. So, I dread the April clean-up like almost nothing else in the world.

Last year’s clean-up was nightmarish for a number of reasons, but what I remember most vividly was trying to clean an oven for the first time and fleeing into the living room because of the fumes from the cleaner. At least I had the help of a friend for that last year, so he got most of the exposure to the noxious chemicals. Seeing as this was going to be a solo effort this year, I wasn’t too happy about the prospect of cleaning the oven with horrible corrosive things again.  Luckily, as I found out, commercial oven cleaners are completely unnecessary. All you really need to get all of the burnt-on, blackened crust off of the oven is baking soda mixed with enough water to make a lovely paste. I just mixed batches as I went along, smeared it all inside the oven with a silicone pastry brush, left it over night, and wiped it all away with a sponge in the morning. Baking soda is my new best friend. Boo to weird and unnecessary chemical cleaners!

3 Responses to "spring cleaning"

That’s amazing. Once a few years ago I almost puked trying to clean a corner of the kitchen with Fantastik or some other “conventional” cleaner, and it wasn’t even an enclosed space, really. The stuff is evil. Baking soda is like Dr Bronner’s… only I expect more effective. Although I’ve never read anything about using it as a contraceptive or vaginal douche. (Thankfully.)

Oh, Jesus soap.
Yeah, I found this website to be rather useful when it comes to household cleaning alternatives: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/healthy-home/nontoxic-cleaning

I’m actually kind of excited to clean the rest of the house when I get back from my trip. I’m going to buy lavender or peppermint oil to use as a disinfectant in my baking soda-soap mixtures!

Will it work on barbeques do you think?

Leave a Reply

