enjoying the foliage

airplane reads

Posted on: Monday, June 16, 2008

In about 10 days I will be flying half way around the world. Including a stop over in Vancouver, it will take me almost an entire day to get to Japan. Excluding perhaps some awkward small talk with whoever decides to take up all of my elbow room beside me, I’ll be spending a lot of time staring rather blankly at my folded tray table. That is, unless I find something to read. Having made North America-to-Asia trips quite a few times in my life, I have a pretty specific set of guidelines for what I can stand reading on an airplane. I once read Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance on a plane to India and it pretty much ruined an entire week of my trip. I hope you, denizens of the internet, can suggest some reading material to make my travels a little less mundane.

Basically, I’m looking for fiction, although non-didactic nonfiction will do as well. It can’t be disturbing or horribly depressing (ie. no Bell Jar, or A Fine Balance, as mentioned above). However, it can’t be a cheesy beach paperback or those horribly drippy fantasy novels. I’m no snob to YA and I secretly prefer happy endings.

Help? 

4 Responses to "airplane reads"

As much as I’ve been reading lately, I don’t have anything to recommend with fanatical zeal. So, these are just my tentative recommendations: Salman Rushdie’s The Ground Beneath Her Feet – it has smatterings of tragedy throughout, but I wouldn’t say that it’s A Fine Balance kind of depressing at all. My other tentative recommendation is Jeffrey Eugenides’ Middlesex – it’s sort of a weird coming-of-age story, I guess. If anything else pops into my head, I’ll post again.

I can make some recommendations, but I fear you and I have radically different tastes in fiction.

I have probably recommended East of Eden and Beak of the Finch to you many times before. And if you haven’t read them before I suggest you read them now!
As far as fiction goes, I own several books based on works of art and their intent which I find interesting – I don’t know what your interest level on these are. Also I read the Mary Stewart series on the life of Merlin and King Arthur many years ago and loved it.
Also if you are looking for fun nonfiction, I got hideously into books on paleontology last summer.

I own all of these books so if you want me to come over and give you them just let me know.

I think Nicholas Christopher’s A Trip to the Stars fits the bill.

Thanks guys! I’m going to take a trip to the bookstore today : )

Leave a Reply

